Thursday, October 1, 2015

What Am I Reading: October Release + To Be Read

Well I guess it is finally time to wake up and enjoy some books! This fall, especially October, has a lot of books coming out that I am throughly excited and ecstatic for. Well enough of this palaver like Harold D. Saxon would say....Lets get this show on the road!

New Releases for the month of October
1: City on Fire by Garth Risk Halberg
This book is set to be released on October 13, 2015. Here is the book description: New York City, 1976. Meet Regan and William Hamilton-Sweeney, estranged heirs to one of the city’s great fortunes; Keith and Mercer, the men who, for better or worse, love them; Charlie and Samantha, two suburban teenagers seduced by downtown’s punk scene; an obsessive magazine reporter and his idealistic neighbor—and the detective trying to figure out what any of them have to do with a shooting in Central Park on New Year’s Eve. The mystery, as it reverberates through families, friendships, and the corridors of power, will open up even the loneliest-seeming corners of the crowded city. And when the blackout of July 13, 1977, plunges this world into darkness, each of these lives will be changed forever. City on Fire is an unforgettable novel about love and betrayal and forgiveness, about art and truth and rock ’n’ roll: about what people need from each other in order to live . . . and about what makes the living worth doing in the first place.

2: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
This book....this book was the talk of Book Expo America, BookCon, San Diego Comic Con and by me. I am so excited for this series! I haven't been this excited for a book since Neil Gaiman announced a prequel for The Sandman as well as Chuck Palahniuk announcing a graphic novel sequel for Fight Club. I pre-ordered this book back in August. This book is set to be released on October 20, 2015. Here is the book description: For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series. “Brace yourself. You're about to be immersed in a mindscape that you'll never want to leave.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend trilogy. This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit. But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again. Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

3: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
Another book that I an excited about. Eleanor and Park was so good and resonated a lot with me; especially with the kind of relationship I have with my symbiote so...I have to read everything from this author now! This book is set to release on October 6, 2015. Here is the book description: Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen.That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he's probably right. Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here -- it's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up. Carry On - The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story - but far, far more you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story - but far, far more monsters.

What I am Reading in October
1: Cell by Stephen King
Another book recommendation from the Mister. I asked him about which book I should start next and this was brought up and he said I should start this one as it has a Walking Dead feel to it. I was sold. Here is the book description: The next call you take could be your last in this terrifying #1 New York Times bestseller by Stephen King. WHERE WERE YOU ON OCTOBER 1ST AT 3:03 P.M.? Graphic artist Clay Riddell was in the heart of Boston on that brilliant autumn afternoon when hell was unleashed before his eyes. Without warning, carnage and chaos reigned. Ordinary people fell victim to the basest, most animalistic destruction. And the apocalypse began with the ring of a cell phone....

2: Speaking of The Walking Dead -- I have volumes 22,23,and 24 to read. So that will be done this month too.

3: Almost done with the Farscape graphic novel series too! Have volumes 5,6,and 7 left. So that will be done too. I hope.

So what do you plan on reading this month?

Countdown to Halloween -- 2015 Edition!

My favorite holiday, besides my birthday, is Halloween. I am drawn to all things Halloween/Autumn -- vampires, zombies, werewolves, cheesy 80s horror movies, dressing up, anything pumpkin flavored or scented, sweater weather... Just love it! With that said I thought it would be cool to do a COUNTDOWN TO HALLOWEEN activities list. Most of this stuff will be done by myself or with George. Yes I know there are dates attached but I am using it more as a check off list.

October 1st: Watch the movie Frankenweenie.
October 2nd: Watch the movie Paranorman.
October 3rd? Watch the movie Hotel Transylvania.
October 4th: Watch the movie The Nightmare Before Christmas.
October 5th: Try the pumpkin spice chai tea at Argo. (Done!)
October 6th: Sweetest Day with George.
October 7th: Wear skull hand hair clip to work. (Done!)
October 8th: Watch the movie Hocus Pocus.
October 9th: Watch the movie The Shining with George.
October 10th: Watch the movie Hellraiser.
October 11th: Attend South Jersey Wrestle Fest with George. (Done!)
October 12th: Watch the Universal classic horror movies Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein.
October 13th: Watch the movie Nightmare on Elm Street (original with Robert Englund) (Done!)
October 14th: Get candles with a cinnamon or pumpkin smell from Bath and Body Works for my room. (Done!)
October 15th: Watch the movie Beetlejuice.
October 16th: Watch the movie Psycho (original Alfred Hitchcock version).
October 17th: Watch the cartoon Its the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (Done!)
October 18th: Go to the NYC Zombie Crawl. (Done!)
October 19th: Watch The Rocky Horror Picture Show.
October 20th: Watch the movie The Evil Dead (original with Bruce Campbell)
October 21st: Watch the movie The Craft (Done!)
October 22nd: Get a beauty treatment that is pumpkin/fall inspired. (Done!)
October 23rd: Get some Halloween inspired stickers for my students.
October 24th: Attend On Point Wrestling with George. (Done!)
October 25th: Watch the movie Friday the 13th Part One
October 26th: Wear cat ears to work. (Done!)
October 27th: Visit a farm and pick a pumpkin!
October 28th: Watch the movie Teen Witch
October 29th: Get a fall inspired color manicure. (Done!)
October 30th: Watch the movie The Lost Boys.
October 31st: HALLOWEEN!!! Blood Manor, Ripley's Believe it Or Not museum, Jekyll and Hyde Club for lunch with George! (Unfortunately plans with George fell through. I still did Blood Manor as he insisted I go and have fun.)

What are you doing for October/Halloween?